State Contacts

Go to:

Alabama State Council on the Arts
Diana Green
334-242-4076
diana.green@arts.alabama.gov

Juneau Arts and Humanities Council (Alaska)
Amanda Filori
907-586-2787
pol@jahc.org

Arizona Commission on the Arts
Anastasia Freyermuth
602-771-6529
afreyermuth@azarts.gov

Arkansas Arts Council
Cynthia Haas
501-324-9769
cynthia.haas@arkansas.gov

California Arts Council
Josy Miller
916-322-6385
josy.miller@arts.ca.gov

Colorado Creative Industries
Rachael Deagman
303-565-9966
deagmanpol@gmail.com

Connecticut Office of the Arts, Department of Economic and Community Development
Scott Wands
860-685-7594
swands@cthumanities.org

Delaware Division of the Arts
Sheila Dean Ross
302-577-8286
sheila.ross@state.de.us

DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities
Paige Reynolds
202-671-1362
paige.reynolds@dc.gov

Florida Division of Cultural Affairs
Alex Buell
727-873-2001
abuell@flahum.org

Georgia Council for the Arts
Emily Reece
404-814-4017
POL@atlantahistorycenter.com

Hawaii State Foundation on the Culture and the Arts
Vivien Lee
808-586-0768
vivien.lee@hawaii.gov

Idaho Commission on the Arts
Ruth Piispanen
208-334-2119
ruth.piispanen@arts.idaho.gov

Illinois Arts Council
Susan Dickson
312-814-6740
Susan.dickson@illinois.gov

Indiana Arts Commission
Wendy Knapp
317-232-3691
wknapp@library.IN.gov

Iowa Arts Council in partnership with ArtForceIowa
Yvette Zaród Hermann
917-628-3633
yvette@artforceiowa.org

Kansas Creative Arts Industries Commission
Deb Kohn
debkohn@gmail.com

Kentucky Arts Council
Jean St. John
502-564-2787 ex.486
Jean.stjohn@ky.gov

Louisiana Division of the Arts
Danny L. Belanger
225-342-8209
dbelanger@crt.la.gov

Maine Arts Commission
Argy Nestor
207-287-2713
mainepolcoordinator@gmail.com

Maryland State Arts Council
Christine Stewart
410-767-6476
cstewart@msac.org

Massachusetts Cultural Council
Diane Daily
617-727-3668 ext 262
diane.daily@art.state.ma.us

Michigan Humanities Council
James Nelson
517-372-7770
jnelson@mihumanities.org

Minnesota State Arts Board c/o The Loft Literary Center
Kathryn Savage
612-215-2590
ksavage@loft.org

Mississippi Arts Commission
Charlotte Smelser
601-359-6529
poetryoutloud@arts.ms.gov

Missouri State Council on the Arts
Virginia Sanders
314-340-6845
virginia.sanders@ded.mo.gov

Montana Arts Council
Emily Kohring
406-444-6522
ekohring@mt.gov

Nebraska Arts Council
Anne Alston
402-595-2122
anne.alston@nebraska.gov

Nevada Arts Council
Maryjane Dorofachuk
702-486-3738
mdorofachuk@nevadaculture.org

New Hampshire State Council on the Arts
Julianne Gadoury
603-271-0791
julianne.gadoury@dcr.nh.gov

New Jersey State Council on the Arts/Writers Theatre of New Jersey
Kay Potucek
609-777-3657
NJPOL@WTNJ.org

New Mexico Arts
Phyllis Kennedy
505-476-0520
Phyllis.Kennedy@state.nm.us

New York State Council on the Arts c/o Teachers & Writers Collaborative
Jade Triton
212-691-6590
pol@twc.org

North Carolina Arts Council
Steve Sumerford
336-317-3229
ssumerford@triad.rr.com

North Dakota Council on the Arts
Rebecca Engelman
701-328-7593
rengelman@nd.gov

Ohio Arts Council
Katie Swett
614-728-4481
Katie.Swett@oac.ohio.gov

Oklahoma Shakespeare in the Park
Kathryn McGill
405-235-3700
kathryn.mcgill@oklahomashakespeare.com

Oregon Arts Commission
Deborah Vaughn
503-986-0085
Deborah.vaughn@state.or.us

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Council on the Arts
Gayle G. Cluck
717-705-5644
c-gcluck@pa.gov

Institute of Puerto Rican Culture/Instituto de Cultura Puertorriquena
Olga Malavé
787-724-3210 or 787-724-0700 ext. 1318
omalave@icp.gobierno.pr

Rhode Island State Council on the Arts
Sherilyn Brown
401-222-6994
Sherilyn.Brown@arts.ri.gov

South Carolina Arts Commission
Frances Kablick Keel
803-734-8639
FMKablick@arts.sc.gov

South Dakota Arts Council
Rebecca Cruse
605-773-5084
rebecca.cruse@state.sd.us

Tennessee Arts Commission
Danielle Brown
615-532-5934
danielle.brown@tn.gov

Texas Commission on the Arts
Anina Moore
512-936-6573
anina@arts.state.tx.us

Utah Division of Arts & Museums
Jean Tokuda Irwin
801-245-7288
jirwin@utah.gov

Vermont Arts Council
Troy Hickman
802-828-3292
THickman@vermontartscouncil.org

Virgin Islands Council on the Arts
Tasida H. Kelch
340-774-5984
tkelch@smartnet.vi

Virginia Commission for the Arts
Casey Polczynski
804-225-3132
casey.polczynski@vca.virginia.gov

Washington State Arts Commission
Lisa Jaret
360-586-2418
lisaj@arts.wa.gov

West Virginia Division of Culture and History
Jim Wolfe
304-558-0240
james.d.wolfe@wv.gov

Wisconsin Arts Board
Jacki Martindale
608-318-0551
elumn8@charter.net

Wyoming Arts Council
Tara Pappas
307-777-7109
tara.pappas@wyo.gov

What People are Saying

"I actually enjoy poetry! When I started participating in the Poetry Out Loud competition in the 9th grade I hated poetry, but as I continued to participate over the years I grew a love and appreciation for the art form, and poetry is now a part of my identity."
Irvin Mason, Jr.
2016 USVI POL Champion