Skip to main content

National Finals

The national finals will be held in Washington, DC, April 27-29, 2020. Check back for more details.

State Finals

Information on the time, date, and location of State Finals will be updated as more competitions are scheduled and planned. Find your state’s Poetry Out Loud coordinator here.

State/TerritoryDateLocationWinner & School
AlabamaMarch 2Alabama Shakespeare Festival
AlaskaMarch 12
ArkansasMarch 14Ron Robinson Theater
CaliforniaMarch 15-16Sunday: Tsakopoulos Library Galleria
Monday: CA State Capitol
ColoradoMarch 3Lakewood Cultural Center
ConnecticutMarch 14
DelawareFebruary 25
District of Columbia
FloridaFebruary 29University of Florida
GeorgiaMarch 15
HawaiiMarch 1Tenney Theatre
IdahoMarch 7
IndianaFebruary 15
IowaMarch 8
KansasFebruary 29Salina South HS
KentuckyMarch 3
MaineMarch 2
MarylandMarch 7Center Stage
MassachusettsMarch 8
MichiganMarch 13-14
MississippiFebruary 27MPB Studios
MissouriMarch 12
MontanaMarch 7
NevadaMarch 14KNPB Studio
New HampshireMarch 13NH State House
New JerseyMarch 17
New MexicoMarch 8
New YorkMarch 7FIT University
North CarolinaFebruary 22Triad Stage
North DakotaFebruary 24
OklahomaMarch 5University of Central Oklahoma
OregonMarch 14
PennsylvaniaMarch 9State Museum
Puerto Rico
Rhode IslandMarch 8RISD Museum of Art
South CarolinaMarch 14Richland Library, Main Branch
South DakotaMarch 16
TennesseeMarch 13-14Tennessee State Museum
VermontMarch 16
Virgin IslandsMarch 14Little Theater
VirginiaMarch 13VPM PBS Richmond
West VirginiaMarch 13-14Norman L. Fagan State Theater
WisconsinMarch 7 UW-Madison Pyle Center
WyomingMarch 2Laramie County Community College