State Contacts

Go to:

Alabama State Council on the Arts
Diana Green
334-242-4076
diana.green@arts.alabama.gov

Juneau Arts and Humanities Council (Alaska)
Amanda Filori
907-586-2787
pol@jahc.org

Arizona Commission on the Arts
Anastasia Freyermuth
602-771-6529
afreyermuth@azarts.gov

Arkansas Arts Council
Kimberly Davis
501-324-9769
kimberly.davis@arkansas.gov

California Arts Council
Josy Miller
916-322-6385
josy.miller@arts.ca.gov

Colorado Creative Industries c/o Lighthouse Writers
Suzi Smith
303-297-1185
suzi@lighthousewriters.org

Connecticut Office of the Arts, Department of Economic and Community Development
Adriane Jefferson
860-500-2328
adriane.jefferson@ct.gov

Delaware Division of the Arts
Sheila Dean Ross
302-577-8286
sheila.ross@state.de.us

DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities
David Markey
202-724-5613
david.markey@dc.gov

Florida Division of Cultural Affairs
Alex Buell
727-873-2001
abuell@flahum.org

Georgia Council for the Arts
Emily Reece
404-814-4017
POL@atlantahistorycenter.com

Hawaii State Foundation on the Culture and the Arts
Tamara Smith
808-839-9985 x704
edadmin@htyweb.org

Idaho Commission on the Arts
Laura Roghaar
208-519-2677
laurameiroghaar@gmail.com

Illinois Arts Council
Susan Dickson
312-814-6740
Susan.dickson@illinois.gov

Indiana Arts Commission
Angela Downs
317-232-3692
adowns@library.IN.gov

Iowa Arts Council in partnership with ArtForceIowa
Jennie Knoebel
515-242-6194
jennie.knoebel@iowa.gov

Kansas Creative Arts Industries Commission
Deb Kohn
debkohn@gmail.com

Kentucky Arts Council
Emily Moses
502-892-3109
EmilyB.Moses@ky.gov

Louisiana Division of the Arts
Danny L. Belanger
225-342-8209
dbelanger@crt.la.gov

Maine Arts Commission
Brita Wanger Morier
207-287-2750
Brita.Wanger-Morier@maine.gov

Maryland State Arts Council
Kayla Morgan
410-767-6412
Kayla.morgan@maryland.gov

Massachusetts Cultural Council
Diane Daily
617-727-3668 ext 262
diane.daily@art.state.ma.us

Michigan Humanities Council
Katie Wittenauer
517-372-7770
kwittenauer@mihumanities.org

Minnesota State Arts Board c/o The Loft Literary Center
Melissa Wray
612-215-2590
mwray@loft.org

Mississippi Arts Commission
Charlotte Smelser
601-359-6529
poetryoutloud@arts.ms.gov

Missouri State Council on the Arts
Virginia Sanders
314-340-6851
virginia.sanders@ded.mo.gov

Montana Arts Council
Monica Smith Grable
(406) 444-6522
monica.grable@mt.gov

Nebraska Arts Council
Anne Alston
402-595-2122
anne.alston@nebraska.gov

Nevada Arts Council
Maryjane Dorofachuk
702-486-3738
mdorofachuk@nevadaculture.org

New Hampshire State Council on the Arts
Julianne Gadoury
603-271-0791
julianne.gadoury@dcr.nh.gov

New Jersey State Council on the Arts
Deonté Griffin-Quick
609-292-4609
deonte.griffin@sos.nj.gov

New Mexico Arts
Phyllis Kennedy
505-476-0520
Phyllis.Kennedy@state.nm.us

New York State Council on the Arts c/o Teachers & Writers Collaborative
Asari Beale
212-691-6590
pol@twc.org

North Carolina Arts Council
Lauren Smith
336-274-0067 ext 222
Lauren@triadstage.org

North Dakota Council on the Arts
Rebecca Engelman
701-328-7593
rengelman@nd.gov

Ohio Arts Council
Chiquita Mullins Lee
614-728-4455
Chiquita.MullinsLee@oac.state.oh.us

Oklahoma A+ Schools
Julie Lunsford
405-974-3779
jlunsford7@uco.edu

Oregon Arts Commission
Deborah Vaughn
503-986-0085
Deborah.vaughn@state.or.us

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Council on the Arts
Gayle G. Cluck
717-705-5644
c-gcluck@pa.gov

Institute of Puerto Rican Culture/Instituto de Cultura Puertorriquena
Olga Malavé
787-724-3210 or 787-724-0700 ext. 1318
omalave@icp.gobierno.pr

Rhode Island State Council on the Arts
Martha Lenihan Lavieri
401-282-0304
poetryoutloudri@gmail.com

South Carolina Arts Commission
Zuri Wilson-Seymore
803-734-0014
zwilsonseymore@arts.sc.gov

South Dakota Arts Council
Rebecca Cruse
605-773-5084
rebecca.cruse@state.sd.us

Tennessee Arts Commission
Meredith Callis
615-532-5934
meredith.callis@tn.gov

Texas Commission on the Arts
Anina Moore
512-936-6573
anina@arts.state.tx.us

Utah Division of Arts & Museums
Jean Tokuda Irwin
801-245-7288
jirwin@utah.gov

Vermont Arts Council
Troy Hickman
802-828-3292
THickman@vermontartscouncil.org

Virgin Islands Council on the Arts
Jaria Lynch
340-774-5984
jaria.lynch@dpnr.vi.gov

Virginia Commission for the Arts
Casey Polczynski
804-225-3132
casey.polczynski@vca.virginia.gov

Washington State Arts Commission
Lisa Jaret
360-586-2418
lisa.jaret@arts.wa.gov

West Virginia Division of Culture and History
Jim Wolfe
304-558-0240
james.d.wolfe@wv.gov

Wisconsin Arts Board
Penny Parsons
608-274-0087
pentim@att.net

Wyoming Arts Council
Mary Billiter
307-777-7109
mary.billiter1@wyo.gov

What People are Saying

"Because poetry centers around very human themes, we are able to connect with it in an extraordinary meaningful, poignant way, regardless of when it was written. "
Hope Stratman
2018 NE POL Champ